Image

L.I.E

A friend once asked how everything was with my life then. She found most of the posts here a little bleak and wondered if I was okay. Maybe just maybe, the dark undertones were undeniably present. Anyhow I gave the standard positive reply …things couldn’t have been any better. A huge smile plastered across my face. Yup. That was it. But that was a lie.

Why would one lie about feelings? Isn’t it easier to spill it out so the world won’t get a chance to misunderstand? What’s there to lose but a couple of minutes, or a dry throat, or a bucket of tears, or simply some dignity? 

All I know is this. I’m not comfortable reaching out to others over my troubles, no matter how big or small. These battles are mine to fight and I will do exactly that. When you see me and have a hunch that I’m struggling, just do one thing. Give me a genuine smile and a warm hug, then say a prayer quietly in your head. I’d appreciate it a lot. Really.

Leave a Reply

